Going Back to the Basics

October 24, 2006

I was never an early adapter when it comes to new technology, specifically with cellular phones. My first phone back in 1998 was an analog Motorola, I can’t even remember the model. It served the purpose, I can make calls when I needed to. Eventually it got phased out when the GSM technology proliferated, i.e., the advent of SIM cards and text messaging and free caller ID.  Yes, people used to pay for Caller ID. Ask your mom, I’m not lying. 

So I bought my first SIM-activated phone, the Nokia 3210. It was the It cellphone then, being the first not to have an antenna, and get this – you can change the covers. Definitely it upped my ganda points, but then it got stolen after two months. I ought to put an expletive here but since this is a GP blog, I will try to restrain myself. 

I bought another 3210 because I didn’t want the acceleration of my ganda points to lose its momentum, and guarded it with my life. It stayed with me for four years. I didn’t see the point of replacing it even when colored screens and MMS came out. It even came to the point that the sides had electrical tapes on it to keep my Tigger Xpress Cover from falling out. I can still call and text people, so shelling out five digits for a new one didn’t appeal too much. 

Then it kept dying on me and the screen went dead for no apparent reason. I guessed it was time to replace it, so I disguised it as a birthday gift for my youngest sister and got myself a Nokia 7210. The 7210 appealed to me because their advertisements in MTV a year before featured a dog suddenly going to parties and generally having a life. I mean, why not? 

I was like Rainbow Brite in Rainbowland. The colored screen! The polyphonic tones! It means I don’t have to suffer guessing what song is my ringtone (I used to mistake Buttercup for a Christmas song). My friends even sent me MMS messages. Oh what joy. 

I used it for two years until I saw the Sony Ericsson K700i. It’s a cameraphone and an MP3 player with 40MB of internal storage. Imagine all that in a phone, I was like a kid on an acid trip on Christmas morning. The screen was so much brighter, I can take pictures and videos whenever I feel like it, and I can upload whole songs to use as my ringtone. Then just as I thought certain relationships are forever, the LCD just up and died on me. It didn’t matter that the battery lasts for only 24 hours.

Maybe it’s my 5-kilo handbag that did it, since my phone gets lost in there at certain points during the day. The LCD was bruised and developed a weird yellow tinge in the middle, and there was a black spot at the center. I inquired how much will it cost to replace the weakling LCD, and got a shock when I was told that it would cost as much as a new low-end phone. Well, I already have that.

So I got out my trusty backup Nokia 1100, that little thing with a quilt for a keypad. All of a sudden, life got simpler. I can text and call, the exact purpose of why we get ourselves a cellphone. I realized I didn’t need a camera (I have a Canon A95) and an MP3 player (I have an iPod) on my phone. The battery lasts me 4 days, and Nokia chargers are everywhere anyway.

Sometimes it takes an LCD to break before we stop spending way too much on things we don’t really need.

One Response to “Going Back to the Basics”


Comments are closed.

